Heart rendering story of a mother and her son


I found this heart rendering story of a mother and her son online. For those who would take heed (myself being the first one) I post it on my blog. –Umer Sultan

My mum only had one eye, I hated her, she was such an embarrassment! She cooked for teachers and students to support the family. There was one day during primary school where she came to say hello to me. I was so embarrassed, how could she do this to me!

I ignored her, threw a hateful look and ran out.

The next day one of my class mates said “Eeww, your mum only has one eye!”
I wanted to bury myself, I also wanted my mum to disappear. So i confronted her and said, “If you’re only going to make me a laughing stock, why don’t you just die!”

My mum did not respond. I didn’t even stop to think for a second about what I had said, because I was full of anger!

I was oblivious to her feelings, I wanted out of that house. So I studied really hard and got a chance to go to Singapore. Then i got married. I bought a house of my own. I had kids of my own and I was happy with my life. Then one day my mother came to visit me. She hadn’t seen me in years and she didn’t even meet her grandchildren!

When she stood by the door my children laughed at her.

I screamed at her, “How dare you come to my house and scare my children! Get out of here now!” And to this my mother quietly answered, “Oh, I’m sorry I may have gotten the wrong address.

One day a letter regarding a school reunion came to my house. So I lied to my wife that I was going on a business trip. After the reunion I went to the old shack just out of curiosity. My neighbors said that she had died. I did not shed a single tear. They handed me a letter she wanted me to have:

To the smile of my life,

My dearest son I think of you all of the time. I’m sorry that I came to Singapore and scared your children. I was so glad when I heard you were coming for the reunion. But I may not be able to even get out of bed to see you. I’m sorry I was a constant embarrassment to you when you were growing up. You see… when you were little, you got into an accident and lost your eye. As a mother I could not stand watching you having to grow up with one eye…So I gave you mine…Seeing a whole new world for me in my place with that eye.

With my love to you

Your Mother

*Source: Anonymous*

We are humans and sometimes we might feel the same way towards our parents-mother or father- as it is in the story above, but we don’t know what they have done for us when we were kids.

If anyone of your parents are alive please go to them and tell them that you love them. Ask them to forgive you for whatever you may have said to them that might have caused them pain. Give them a hug…possibly a kiss too… and tell them that they are the most important thing in this world to you. Then try to take care of them in the future. If you want more reasons to do this, then see below:

It is narrated by Al-Mughira:

The Prophet said, “Allah has forbidden you ( 1 ) to be undutiful to your mothers (2) to withhold (what you should give) or (3) demand (what you do not deserve), and (4) to bury your daughters alive. And Allah has disliked that (A) you talk too much about others ( B), ask too many questions (in religion), or (C) waste your property.” Sahih Bukhari Volume 8, Book 73, Number 6.

Allah Ta’ala says in the Quran:

Your Lord has commanded that you shall worship none but Him and goodness to your parents. If either or both of them reach old age in your life, say not to them a word of contempt, nor repel them, but address them in terms of honour. And make yourself submissively gentle to them with compassion and say: O my Lord bestow on them compassion even as they cherished me in my childhood. Your Lord knows best what is in your minds; if you are good, then He is surely Forgiving to those who turn (to Him) frequently. [Qur’an 17: 23-24]

And We have enjoined man in respect of his parents– his mother bears him with faintings upon faintings and his weaning takes two years– saying: Be grateful to Me and to both your parents; to Me is the eventual coming. [Qur’an 31: 14]

The Prophet himself set a model for the world. Once Halimah, the lady who nursed him in his childhood came to see him. The Prophet was sitting with his disciples. As soon as he saw her, he stood up with reverence and spread his mantle on the floor and requested his foster-mother to take her seat there. [Muslim Canada]

And his famous hadith is well known: ‘Paradise lies at the feet of your mother’ [Musnad Ahmad, Sunan An-Nasâ’i, Sunan Ibn Mâjah]

The great scholar, Abu al-Faraj Ibn Al-Jawzi (d. 1201CE) explained:

To be kind to one’s parents is: to obey them when they order you to do something, unless it is something which Allah has forbidden; to give priority to their orders over voluntary acts of worship; to abstain from that which they forbid you to do; to provide for them; to serve them; to approach them with gentle humility and mercy; not to raise your voice in front of them; nor to fix your glance on them; nor to call them by their names; and to be patient with them. (Ibn al-Jawzî, Birr al-Wâlidayn)

Now adays, we have grown accustomed to disobeying our parents, and dis-respecting them, some even ridicule them. This is a very serious sin and we must repent and work harder to be good towards them.

May Allah guide us all, Ameen.

Part of a Youth Series

If you like it, you share it

Leave a comment

Filed under Islam

Leave a Reply

