Steering in the new direction!


Some brothers have asked me why I haven’t posted my thoughts about the political uprisings and on similar topics lately. I have noticed that too, most of my posts lately have been related to Islam.

You see there comes a time in your life when a lot of things happen to you very quickly and all those events folding in your life direct you to a common realization. Probably you have experienced that! Something like that has happened in my life.

Earlier this year, I went to Karachi (Pakistan) after about 6 years. I never wrote about it on my blog before, and I am still uncomfortable to write about it so I will address it very briefly. In that trip I noticed a lot of things which were “Culture Shock.” Yes a ‘Culture Shock’ in a place where I grew up and finished my high school. I was looking at the city of birth through the lens of the 6 years experience that I have had in Michigan (USA). Not only that it was very much different from the stilled image that I had before I left Karachi in 2005. When I came back to Michigan, the experiences didn’t end, instead it continued.

Not that kind of Muslim!

Chain of events in the short span of two months in Karachi and on wards until now taught me that “I don’t want to be that kind of Muslim.” What kind of Muslim I don’t want to be? I don’t want to be a Muslim who doesn’t know anything about Islam yet think that I know all about Islam. Not the kind of Muslim who has never read a Tafsir (explanation of the Noble Qur’an). Not the kind of Muslim who recite the Word of Allah (Noble Qur’an) in Urdu, even though it was revealed in Arabic. Not the kind of Muslim who prays behind the same Imam, yet as soon as he leaves the Masjid (Mosque) he spits our Jahiliyyah from the mouth that Karachi belongs to “us” and not “them”- where “us” being the Muhajir (Urdu speaking immigrants from India) and “them” being all other ethnicities in particular Pathan (Pashto speakers from the North). Other experiences for probably later times.

You see, I spent too much of my time reading news. It helped me a lot, I was up to date on protests, on riots, on revolutions, on American politicians spitting Islamophobic comments, Pakistani politician lying to the nation. I was up to date to the oppression of our brothers and sisters in Palestine and Kashmir. All of that information helped me write blogs, compile events and write my comments. All at the expense of what? At the expense of being ignorant of Islam.

I say it without any regret that today when Tripoli was taken over by the rebels, I was not the one who was changing my facebook status, in fact my friends were the ones informing me about it. I don’t regret because I was able to finish a book on the Authority of Sunnah within a day and I learned that this information was so basic that it should have been taught to me in my Islamic Studies class in my Middle School back in Karachi. So yes I don’t know whether the President of Yemen is returning to Yemen or not. Yes I am not thinking about what will happen when Palestinian Authority will submit the resolution in the United Nations to recognize the State of Palestine.

For every time Netanyahu expands Israel’s occupation on the pretext of “population growth” he doesn’t ask me. For past over 60 years, Kashmir is under occupation and majority of the people don’t know about it and especially Muslims are not really concerned about it, and neither are Pakistanis. Karachi is terrorized by the two Secularist Racist Political Parties based on ethnicities calling towards Jahiliyyah, and Pakistan is looted by the National Political parties  so I feel it is unnecessary to write the obvious. I think it is pretty useless to post a blog every day saying “I condemn the killing in Pakistan, Libya, Syria, Yemen, Palestine, Kashmir, China, Somalia, Britain, Norway, etc because it is against Islam” don’t you think so!

You see I have shared experiences about some of the Muslims I have come across in the previous post “One Stop Guide for an Introductory Understanding of Islam.”

So my responsibility is first to myself, to better myself, and even though I cannot change everything in this world, I can change my self. Instead of writing one blog post after another bashing other people like some Pakistani bloggers do, or crying about why Muslims can’t unite and can’t do this or that while oneself being ignorant of Islam like some Muslim bloggers do, I can use my time and energy to educate myself about Islam.

So I am sorry I am being a little selfish, and that I have disappointed some of my readers by not writing my political commentaries. I do hope that this new direction of self improvement that I am taking, will help me in this life and the next, and also help me in sharing the information and knowledge with you guys as well. Remember though, I do share political commentary at my blog’s Facebook Page and that is one of the best way to stay tuned.

Remember me in your Du’a (prayers), and remember:

“We were the lowliest of people but Allah gave us might and glory through Islam. If we seek glory through other than what Allah gave us glory through, He will abase us (again).” 

Umar ibn Al-Khattab, Second Khalifa of Muslims. Source IslamicQuotes.org

So learn Islam from ‘Ulama and share the gems with me.

The Sultan’s Corner at Facebook.

3 Comments

Filed under Muslim World, Pakistan, Umer Sultan

3 responses to “Steering in the new direction!

  1. “I don’t want to be a Muslim who doesn’t know anything about Islam yet think that I know all about Islam. Not the kind of Muslim who has never read a Tafsir(explanation of the Noble Qur’an). Not the kind of Muslim who recite the Word of Allah (Noble Qur’an) in Urdu, even though it was revealed in Arabic. Not the kind of Muslim who prays behind the same Imam, yet as soon as he leaves the Masjid (Mosque) he spits our Jahiliyyah from the mouth that Karachi belongs to “us” and not “them”- where “us” being the Muhajir (Urdu speaking immigrants from India) and “them” being all other ethnicities in particular Pathan (Pashto speakers from the North). Other experiences for probably later times.”
    the best part🙂

  2. Pingback: Preface to What is the Sunnah and Hadith? | The Sultan's Corner

  3. Maryam

    JazakAllah khayr, its good to think about Islam everyday, its good to think about why we are Musalmaan everyday. We may have everything and yet, we may be bereft of everything. For what matters most in this world of days and nights is how strongly we are connected to our Creator.

    My nana used to say this often, ‘ilm ik samandar hai aur is ki koi had nahi’ Knowledge is an ocean and it has no limit. SubhanAllah. And y’know what true knowledge is…. its not the prolific retention of traditions, it the fear of God, that’s what Abdullah ibn Mubarak once said.

    Please keep me in your duas too.

Leave a Reply

